Victorian Compact Speedcar Title

This Saturday 27th January sees the running of the 2017/2018 Victorian Compact Speedcar Title at Bairnsdale Speedway.

As drivers and crews are no doubt busy in the shed doing those last few adjustments to their cars, Saturday’s racing looks set to be spectacular!

Bairnsdale Speedway have put mammoth hours of labour into the track surface since the Compact’s last outing and it looks like providing action packed, wheel to wheel racing!

Seven drivers from the New South Wales Compact Speedcar Club (Craig Hickey, Jason Essai, Mark Heaton, Robert Heaton, Rod Francis, Bruce Adams and Ayden Elliot) will be racing as hard as they can to try to steal the Title (and the $1000 first place prize money) from a Victorian driver! Eleven divers from the home state will be trying their best to stop them, including defending champion Justin Paull, fresh off a win at the last completed nights racing at Laang. The VCSC would like to give a warm ‘welcome back’ to Joe Lostich, who will be racing in the Curren owned V32.

Current Victorian Title Holder, Justin Paull, with his Victorian Title trophy

Title races like these only go ahead with significant support from sponsors. Major Sponsors for this event are ASSOCIATED POWDERCOATING P/L, RIPPER STICKERS, KAY MAINLINE MANUFACTURING, COMPACT QUEENS, GUNTNER AUSTRALIA AND MEGUIAR’S CAR CARE PRODUCTS. Additional sponsors include MAX DUMESNY MOTORSPORTS AND REDLINE RACEWEAR.

The action kicks off first thing Saturday morning with Louis Rodriguez and Mark Heaton placing their cars on display in the Main Street of Bairnsdale from 9.00 am – 11.30 am.

Scrutineering commences at the track from 12.00 pm with a BBQ lunch supplied to all drivers and crews from 12.30pm. All Compact Speedcar cars and drivers must be in the pits by 2.00pm.

2017/2018 Victorian Compact Speedcar Title at Bairnsdale Speedway Nominations:

V2.         Butch Hutchinson
NSW2.  Craig Hickey
NSW4    Rod Francis
V6.         Mark Hutchinson
V8.         Mathew Brown
V11.       Louis Rodriquez
V12.       Justin Paull
NSW13 Jason Essai
V15.       Tania Hallett
V16.       Scott Thomson
V23.       Boofa Curren
V24.       Craig McKimmie
NSW26 Mark Heaton
V27.       Keith Astrella
V32.       Joe Lostich
NSW62 Robert Heaton
NSW63 Bruce Adams
NSW69 Ayden Elliot


(Photos thanks to Random Panda Photography)