A Big Season Ahead for NSW

The season is almost upon us and the NSW Compact Speedcar Club will start its 58th year of competition.

After what was a somewhat frustrating 2016-2017 season with wash outs at a premium, we are looking forward to season 2017-2018 with plenty of new drivers and a few who will be making a welcome return when racing gets underway at Cullen Bullen Speedway at the end of September.

Now is a good time to introduce you to our drivers who will be on track at some time this season.

2. Craig Hickey. Past club Champion. Upgrading to a later model chassis.
3. Alan Day. Will again share his time between Compacts and Midgets.
4. Rod Francis. Current State Champion. Has been enjoying himself since returning to the class.
5. Marty Perry. Returns after a season on the sidelines rebuilding what was the number 19 machine.
6. Gaby Yammouni. Club President. A new ride this season, Gaby is hoping for continued consistency.
7. Dan Biner. Like Alan Day, Dan will also be sharing his time between Midgets and Compacts.
8. Steve Zarb. Looking to giving it a good crack this season, Steve has the talent to win a few.
11. Richard Meyers. Richard also had last season off and will return full of enthusiasm.
13. Jason Essai. Returns after concentrating on his sons debut season in Junior Sedans last year.
14. Darren Margules. Another driver returning after a season off.
15. Rob Rawlings Snr. Returns to Compacts after a stint in Wingless Sprints and a very successful time in Legend Cars. Rob is a former ACT Compact Champ.
16. Brad Rawlings. Will be making his Compact debut after running several years in the Legends class.
17. Wayne Murphy. Had a couple of runs at the end of last season sorting out his Yamaha powered machine. Should make a strong start to the new season.
18. Darren Hawksworth. Been around for quite a while now, one of a few still running the old Datto.
21. Nathan O’Brien. A complete rebuild kept him off the track last season, now keen to do some laps.
22. Adam Henry. Took some time recovering from injuries after a crash at the previous seasons Aussie Title returned at the end of last season only to blow a motor.
23. Rod Burns. Came on gang busters towards the end of last season. We may see a new driver in the 23 machine.
24. Keiran Macklyn. Concentrated on his GP Midget while getting a new Compact ready.
25. Paul Backman. Will be making a return behind the wheel of the Ian Backman owned racer.
26. Mark Heaton. Set the track on fire last season winning the Club Championship in his first full season.
29. Carl Yenne. Purchased the ex Tony Aulsebrook machine and ran it in honour of Tony at Bega.
32. Ethan Brown. Stepping up from Junior Sedans to Compacts. Will be full of youthful exuberance.
33. Vince Sainsbury. Has been steadily building his ride which is a little unique in that it will be powered by a Suzuki V Twin.
34. Kyle Sharp. Kyle, from the ACT is full of enthusiasm to finally hit the dirt.
43. Andrew Coppock. Had his best ever meeting at the last round at Bega giving him some much needed confidence leading into this coming season.
44. Ben Fairfax. An Aircraft engineer currently based out of Adelaide, Ben has spent the past few years building up a car for this season.
47. Mark Shepherd. A blown engine kept Mark sidelined for most of last season.
51. Stewart Henderson. Proved that just being there at the finish will see you on the podium come seasons end.
54. Graeme Hook. A veteran Speedway racer “Hookie” is a Nowra local.
59. Rod Saville. Suffered a back injury after a crash at Sydney Speedway and had to sit out the back half of last season.
62. Robert Heaton. The eldest son of Mark and Joanne, Robert will make his Speedway debut at Cullen Bullen.
63. Bruce Adams. Last Seasons Rookie of the Year, Bruce came across to Compacts from Mod Lights and hasn’t looked back. He’s having a ball.
66. Rob Hodkinson. Has shown glimpses of his talent, now just needs to get his car up to his pace.
71. Ayden Elliott. Purchased a new ride and super keen to take it up to the “hot shots”.
72. Darryl Humphries. A newbie to Compacts. Will have more info shortly.
76. Con Buurveld. A true veteran of the Compact class, Con has been racing for over 25 years.
86. Rob Rawlings Jnr. Comes across from Legend cars with his dad. One of the top runners in that class.
98. Grant Lahiff. After many years at the top of Speedway Karts Grants Compact debut at the end of last season had plenty sitting up and paying attention.
99. Brad Forgeard. Busted a collar bone last season and had to sit out a good part of the racing season.