Vine wins 7th Australian Compact Speedcar Title

The record number of Australian Compact Speedcar Titles that Queensland’s Darren Vine owns now extends by one with a hard fought win last night at Goulburn Speedway.

On a track that tested a drivers skill and patience Vine managed to come from starting position eight to claim his 4th in a row, Australian Title. Darren had to revert to his normally aspirated car, the same car he won the last three titles, after mechanical problems saw him pull out of his first heat while leading in the turbo Triumph.

Starting up front were New South Wales Rob Eyeington and Victoria’s Geoff Meyers. At the green Meyers accelerated to the first corner in the lead with Eyeington, Darren Dillon, Robbie Stewart, Jason Essai, Alan Day, Dave Collins, Darren Vine, Tony Aulsebrook and Emma Harris the top ten in a hectic opening lap.

The final was punctuated with several stoppages with a few drivers trying to drive through that red mist that sometimes appears at a major event.

As the laps were reeling off Vine was taking advantage of the stoppages to move his way toward the front moving past Eyeington on lap twelve to now be behind Meyers.

Vine soon passed the leader only to have the yellows brought on. This put him back to second for the restart. The top five we’re Meyers, Vine, Eyeington, Essai and Stewart.

Meyers was doing a great job out front knowing he had the Aussie champ now right on his tail. With only a couple of laps remaining, Meyers cut the apex of turn one a little low, hitting the wet patch, which slid him high. Vine was quick to take advantage of the error and took over the lead.

Vine went on to record that record win with Meyers and Eyeington crossing in second and third respectively. Completing the top ten were, Essai, Stewart, Rod Francis, Aulsebrook, Harris, David Hutchinson and Richard Meyers.

After post race scrutineering Geoff Meyers was disqualified from the results for a technical breach as was Rod Francis. This then made the official results, 1st, Darren Vine, 2nd, Rob Eyeington, 3rd,Jason Essai, 4th, Robbie Stewart and 5th Tony Aulsebrook.

It was a late start to the final after Adam Henry took a nasty roll early in the “B” main. After all care was taken to remove Adam from his car after complaining of a sore neck. Adam was taken to Goulburn Hospital for precautionary scans and observation.

The NSW club would like to thank all the volunteers who gave up their time last night, the sponsors, SportsPower Dapto, American Racer Tires, Valvoline and John Hawksworth. To Kev and Kath, Rod Saville and family for the post race BBQ a special thanks. Finally Goulburn Speedway for allowing us to host this title at their track, thank you.

Nswcsc Media